Everything I’ve read about infant sleep is wrong, useless, or both

I commented half-jokingly on facebook recently that everything I’ve read about infant sleep is wrong, useless, or both. I think the worst one was Troublesome Tots, which threatened:

You want to start gradually putting your baby down awake. Some babies will fight this with a fiery passion. So the process of gradually reducing the amount of nursing, rocking, and butt patting you do can be frustrating. But it’s REALLY important. Also? Failure to do so almost guarantees you will never ever sleep through the night. That’s how important it is.

Well…sometimes Maya sleeps through the night, sometimes she doesn’t. Sometimes she nurses to sleep, sometimes she doesn’t. Right now she’s taking an epic nap, I think going on an hour and a half? She woke up once but I nursed her a bit and put her back down and she’s been out for >45 minutes. Maybe her new daycare provider has some kind of magic touch, or is sleep training her without telling me, who knows — but I think really, she is a baby and her sleep patterns change a lot and everything she’s done so far is developmentally totally normal. 

Unrelated to infant sleep: I am really sick of pumping. Really really sick of it. I pump pretty much every minute I’m awake, alone, and sitting down. Including my ridiculous commute (which should be coming to an end soon). 

I read this list of opinions about pregnancy today which I mostly agreed with (and could not comment on without a livejournal account). I agree with most of it, although my husband insisted on a diaper genie knockoff and it has been worth it to not have our house smell like poop. Also my cheap baby carrier (Moby) has been awesome. And, as a neuroscientist, pregnancy brain is definitely a thing.

Standard

Leave a Reply

